Swapping Kids

What do you do when one of your kids doesn’t like baseball? Swap her with one of your friend’s kids, of course.

Yesterday, I went to my first and only College World Series (CWS) game of the year. A friend of mine had given me eight tickets since he and his wife don’t care for the game, and his work was giving them away for free. The only issue was, I knew I wasn’t going to be able to get away for more than one game. Not to mention, it was hotter than Hades, and I really didn’t feel like sitting outside in the heat and humidity just to watch a baseball game with teams in which I held no interest. I think that was the biggest problem I was running into, too. Every single team that my sisters and I normally cheer for was out before they ever made it to the Series. Not that I only go when one of those teams are playing, but you have to admit, it’s a lot more fun to watch a sport when you at least have a favorite team to watch.

That being said, I had settled on watching only the first of potentially three Championship games. Definitely a first for me, as usually I see as many as humanly possible; however, due to the aforementioned reason, I really wasn’t interested this year.

But, with eight free tickets, I felt wrong somehow just wasting them. So, the first two, I gave to my sisters. I wasn’t going to use them, and I decided that if I did decide to go to a game I needed at least half of the original set I was given. Then, by some unfortunate course of events, I lost one of the tickets, which left me with only five. Still, I was left with a dilemma.

My oldest daughter doesn’t like baseball. Not even a little bit. Well, that, and still on crutches, hobbling around town really wasn’t her idea of a good time. So, I was faced with two problems as a result. First, what do I do with two extra tickets, and two, what do I do with a child who doesn’t want to go, and won’t want to stay home alone. So, we shopped around, and by that I mean, we thought of all the potential people she could spend the evening with. She thought of a good friend of mine who has a daughter who also does not like the sport. So, we got a hold of her and my daughter had somewhere to stay for the evening, and into today.

Then it hit me. A later post of Facebook gave me a good idea of what to do with those tickets. My friend with the daughter also has an older son. Fortunately, for me, he is a fan, and so are his friends. So, I offered the tickets, and he opted to join. It actually worked out well. Not only was it beneficial in terms of not having to waste any tickets, but I also had the pleasure of enjoying a game with three very well-behaved children; all of whom enjoy the game as much as I do. Talk about two birds, one stone.

It was an awesome evening.

Posted on June 24, 2014, in 365 Day Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

